Registration Has Closed

Clearing the Vapor: Policy Solutions to Address the Youth Vaping Epidemic

Educational Dinner with Legislators


We are excited to announce our first ever pre-session legislative dinner! Please join us Wednesday January 8th at 6:30 pm to learn more about our plan to address the youth vaping epidemic during the 2020 legislative session.

Did you know? 

  • More than 1 in 6 UTAH high school students are actively vaping and struggling with nicotine addiction! In comparison, eight years ago this was just 1 in 33.
  • 97% of kids who vape prefer flavored products with mint/menthol being the #1 choice of high schoolers.
  • 85% of tobacco users (including those who vape) start with a flavored product.
  • The US Surgeon General declared youth vaping an “epidemic” that presents “a clear and present danger” to the health of our nation’s youth.

What does this mean?

  • E-cigarette use, especially in fruity and mint flavors, has become so pervasive that if you have children or grandchildren in school they are likely to have classmates currently struggling with nicotine addiction – an addiction they will now carry with them for the rest of their lives.

Join us for dinner and information from speakers in our communities who are seeing firsthand the problem with youth usage of vaping/e-cigarettes.

Topics will include:

  • Community – Vaping in Schools
  • Personal – Youth Nicotine Addiction
  • Health - What is the Impact
  • Solutions

Check in will start at 6:00 pm and dinner and speakers will start at 6:30 pm. We hope you can join us for what should be an exciting and informative event!

Space is limited so please RSVP today to reserve your spot!

January 08, 2020 at 6:00pm - 8:30pm
University of Utah Guest House & Conference Center - Granite Ballroom
110 Fort Douglas Blvd
Salt Lake City, UT 84113
United States
Google map and directions
Marc Watterson · · 801-831-1591
Cade Mellies Garrett Harding Corey Fairholm Laney Benedict Betty Shaw Rhonda Perkes Ryan Bartlett Gayle Ruzicka Braden Ainsworth Kris Denison Joyce and Charles Ah You Bethany Crisp Todd Hougaard Annie Parker Kristi Jones Lori Greene Marc Briggs Megan Donohue Caroline Moreno Adam Gardiner Savannah Wendelboe Clarissa Stebbing James Duberow Brittany Guerra Jodi Parker Dana Hughes Becky Brinkerhoff Sterling Brinkerhoff Aspen Brinkerhoff Brian Brinkerhoff Cathy Kimball Blanca Desantiago Sarah Simons Sheri Mattle Lee Ann Brocious Jeannette Bowen Sharilee Griffiths Amy Choate-Nielsen Stacey Mollinet Rebekah Pitts Terri Francis LeAnn Wood Katie Bertram Debbie Dujanovic Michael Anderson Stewart Hudnall Jestine Salazar Brook Carlisle

Showing 91 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.