Skip to Content




By Jerry Saavedra, Senior Local Policy Manager

The American Heart Association (AHA) is proud to announce the formation of the 2015-2016 Texas State Leadership Council – Smoke-Free.  The SLC for Smoke-Free, as those of us at the AHA who like to use acronyms like to call it, will work to provide critical advice and support for AHA’s smoke-free efforts across the great state of Texas. 

The SLC membership is comprised of a diverse set of AHA volunteer leaders united in their vision for a smoke-free Texas.  While some are veterans of AHA who have already played integral roles in local smoke-free campaigns, others are new to the AHA family and are already contributing fresh and new ideas.

While working on smoke-free policy is a huge responsibility and undertaking where people’s lives are literally at stake, having a group of top-notch volunteers to support our efforts makes all the difference in the world.  We are humbled and excited to begin working with this great group of people. 

2015-2016 Texas State Leadership Council Membership

  • Mathew Harris (Chair)

Lubbock, Texas

Attorney, Matthew Harris Law, PLLC

  • Annette Torres (Co-Chair)

El Paso, Texas

Program Coordinator at A Smoke-Free Paso Del Norte

  •  Michael Clintsman

Lubbock, Texas

Owner, Local Bar & Grill/ Bar PM

  • Ruthie Ewers

Harlingen, Texas

Chairman Smoke-Free Harlingen, American Heart Association

  • Steve Love

Irving, Texas

President/CEO, Dallas/Fort Worth Hospital Council

  • LaShonda Malrey-Horne

Tyler, Texas

Residency & Education Program Manager, UT Health Northeast

  • Bill Owen

Irving, Texas

Senior Business & Communications Consultant, Southwest Airlines

  • Randy Riggs

Waco, Texas

Tax Assessor Collector, McLennan County

  • Dr. Thomas Tenner

Lubbock, Texas

Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Neurosciences, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center – School of Medicine

Share This Story

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.