Ohio! Americans for Nonsmokers’ Rights Updates Smokefree List


In July, Americans for Nonsmoker’s Rights released updated lists and maps of U.S. municipalities and states with smokefree laws now in effect. A total of 575 municipalities now have ordinances in effect for 100% smokefree non-hospitality workplaces, restaurants, AND bars, along with 24 states, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Washington D.C. These strong laws now protect 49.0% of the U.S. population.

A total of 738 municipalities have a local law in effect that requires both restaurants and bars to be smokefree, along with 30 states, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Washington D.C. These laws protect 64.9% of the U.S. population.

The American Heart Association has long supported smoke-free laws because exposure to secondhand smoke increases the risk of heart disease and stroke. It is time for all states to pass comprehensive smoke-free laws to protect workers and the public from secondhand smoke.

To learn more about current efforts and to show your legislators that tobacco issues are important to you, please visit our Take Action center to send your supportive message today and encourage others to send a message through Facebook.

Share This Story

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.