Skip to Content

NJ Becomes 3rd State to Pass Tobacco 21!

New Jersey became the 3rd state in the country to raise the tobacco sale age to 21 on July 21, 2017.

hero_image===https://d3n8a8pro7vhmx.cloudfront.net/yourethecure/pages/24253/attachments/original/1497974366/cigarette-butt-small-244x300%20Cropped%20%282%29.jpg?1497974366
thumbnail===https://d3n8a8pro7vhmx.cloudfront.net/yourethecure/pages/24253/attachments/original/1497974369/cigarette-butt-small-244x300%20Cropped%20%282%29.jpg?1497974369

The Legislature gave final approval to the measure in June, and Governor Christie signed it into law. About 95% of adult smokers started before reaching 21. Keeping tobacco out of the hands of young people could reduce the smoking rate by 12% and reduce smoking related deaths by 10%. New Jersey joins Hawaii and California as a leader in youth tobacco prevention. The age increase applies to cigarettes and all other tobacco products, including “e-cigarettes” and vaping products.

We thank Governor Christie for signing this life-saving legislation into law. 

Share This Story

Showing 3 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.