Meet Our Mississippi Advocacy Committee

The American Heart Association is working toward improving the cardiovascular health of all Americans by 20 percent, and reducing deaths from cardiovascular diseases and stroke by 20 percent, all by the year 2020. Policy change is essential for us to meet this bold goal – and our volunteers are at the heart of our efforts.


Each year, the American Heart Association invites a diverse group of volunteers to serve on the Mississippi Advocacy Committee, which is the advisory board to volunteers and staff on state public advocacy issues. With the leadership of our subcommittee, we create a state public policy agenda that impacts heart disease and stroke risk factors and protects heart disease and stroke patients. We also conduct grassroots and lobbying activities to educate the public and policymakers about the need for policy change.

This year, we are proud to announce our 2016-17 Mississippi Advocacy Subcommittee:

• Claire Hick, Chair: Baptist Memorial Hospital- Desoto, Hernando

• Ollie Galloway, Vice-Chair: Sysco Food Services, Jackson

• Mary Taylor: University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson

• Jan Collins: Madison County Business League & Foundation, Madison

• Sherri Bevis: Office of the Secretary of State, Gulfport

• Richard Summers: University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson

• Lolita Bolden: Unite One Voice, Jackson

• Rhonda Lampkin: The Partnership for a Healthy Mississippi, Flowood

• Margie Jepsen: eSoftware Solutions, Madison


Stay tuned as we release our 2016-17 public policy agenda for Mississippi and let you know how you can help advocate in your community!

Share This Story

Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.